U.S. Particle Accelerator School

Director's Advisory Council

The USPAS Director’s Advisory Council is convened by and reports to the USPAS Director to provide primary advice concerning strategic directions, evolving needs in workforce development in accelerator science and technology and specific advice concerning each of the USPAS sessions. The Council’s advice includes, but is not limited to, course curricula and syllabi; instructor selection; locations or host institutions; evaluation of the financial plans and operations of the sessions; evaluation of the impact of the sessions; USPAS-affiliated degree programs; joint sessions with international counterparts; and scholarships and prizes.

Each institutional representative of the USPAS consortium serves as a member of the Director’s Advisory Council. In addition the USPAS Director may appoint at-large members to broaden the perspective of the Council.  Currently, the members of the Director’s Advisory Council are:

Rod Gerig, (Chair) Argonne National Lab
Alex Chao, SLAC National Accelerator Lab
Jean Delayen, Jefferson Lab
Bob Garnett, Los Alamos National Lab
Kevin Jones, Oak Ridge National Lab
Wim Leemans, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Steve Lund, Michigan State University
Sergei Nagaitsev, Fermilab
Thomas Roser, Brookhaven National Lab
Dave Rubin, Cornell University

The at-large members are:
Sarah Cousineau, University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Lab
Young-Kee Kim, University of Chicago

In planning USPAS curricula and in evaluating the impact of the USPAS program, the Council is assisted by standing sub-committees that include representatives of the U.S. accelerator research and development community. The standing sub-committees are chaired by a Council member and have at least two Council members.

Sub-Committees of the Director's Advisory Council

The Curriculum Sub-Committee provides input to the USPAS Director and his Advisory Council concerning course curricula for USPAS sessions, syllabi for core USPAS courses, and recommended instructors. Currently, the members of the Curriculum Sub-committee (Advisory Council members in italics) are:

Sarah Cousineau (Chair), University of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Lab
Jean Delayen, Old Dominion University & Jefferson Lab
Steve Lund, Michigan State University
Kathy Harkay, Argonne National Laboratory
Georg Hoffstaetter, Cornell University
Zhirong Huang, Stanford University & SLAC National Accelerator Lab
Rami Kishek, University of Maryland
Michiko Minty, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Fernando Sannibale, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Linda Spentzouris, Illinois Institute of Technology
Michael Syphers, Northern Illinois University & Fermilab

The Evaluation Sub-committee assists the USPAS Director in preparing the annual self-assessment of the USPAS and in recommending an evolving methodology, including both qualitative and semi-quantitative measures of merit for the evaluation of the impact of the sessions on a rolling multi-year basis. The self-assessment evaluates both the finances and operations for the USPAS sessions as well as the impact of the USPAS program.

Kevin Jones (Chair), Oak Ridge National Lab

Young-Kee Kim, University of Chicago
Steve Lund, Michigan State University

Bruce Carlsten, Los Alamos National Lab
Bob Hettel, SLAC National Accelerator Lab
Sergey Belomestnykh, Fermilab
Ritchie Patterson, Cornell University