U.S. Particle Accelerator School

USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Science and Technology

Call For Nominations for the 2019 USPAS Prize



The USPAS prize honors individuals by recognizing their outstanding achievements over the full range of accelerator science and technology.

Nominees are evaluated in these categories:

  1. Quality, impact and number of scientific/technical contributions to the field.
  2. Realization of concepts in working accelerators; leadership and vision in machine building; putting concepts into practice.
  3. Level of impact: degree to which concepts have led to the production of more or better science or has the potential for doing so in the future.
  4. Other factors, especially teaching/encouragement/stimulation of young scientists and engineers.

Two achievement prizes are awarded every two years. One of the two prizes will be awarded to an early-career scientist under 45 years of age. The prizes are awarded on a competitive basis without bias to race, ethnicity, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, religion or class.  The USPAS Director appoints the Prize Committee Chairman who in turn appoints his or her committee members who select the recipient from nominations received. Nominations are kept for 4 years (i.e. 2 award cycles). Expired nominations may be renewed at the discretion of the nominator.  Information on input for nomination submissions can be found in the FAQs

Recipients will receive a certificate of merit and a cash award of $3000.00. Awards are conveyed, when possible, at either prominent accelerator conferenced or at US Particle Accelerator School sessions. The awards are made possible by donations from Argonne National Laboratory; Brookhaven Science Associates; Fermi Research Alliance, LLC; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and the Jefferson Science Associates Initiatives Funds Program.


The deadline to submit 2019 USPAS Prize nominations is December 10, 2018. 

Please submit nominations by email, fax or mail to:

U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Fermilab, MS 125
Kirk & Wilson Streets
P.O. Box 500, Batavia IL 60510
email: uspas@fnal.gov
Phone: 630-840-3896
Fax: 630-840-8500

2019 Prize Selection Committee 
Alex Chao, (SLAC National Accelerator Lab), Chair
William Barletta (MIT)
Robert Hamm (R&M Technical Enterprises)
Kathy Harkay (Argonne National Lab) 
Andrew Hutton (Jefferson Lab)
Dejan Trbojevic (Brookhaven National Lab)
Jean-Luc Vay (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)