U.S. Particle Accelerator School

2019 USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Science and Technology - Call for Nominations

For more than 30 years, the U.S. Particle Accelerator School Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology has honored individuals by recognizing their outstanding achievements over the full range of accelerator science and technology. Two prizes are awarded every two years on a competitive basis; one prize will be awarded to a scientist/engineer under 45 years of age.

Nominees will be evaluated in these categories: 1) quality, impact and number of scientific/technical contributions to the field; 2) realization of concepts in working accelerators – leadership and vision in machine building, putting concepts into practice; 3) level of impact – degree to which concepts have led to the production of more or better science or has the potential for doing so in the future; 4) other factors, especially teaching/mentorship/stimulation of young scientists and engineers.

Nominations should include the name, institution and CV of the nominee; description of accomplishments with supporting documents and suggested citation; up to three letters of support in addition to the nominating letter. Letters may have multiple signatures. USPAS prizes are awarded without bias to race, ethnicity, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, religion or class.

Each winner will receive a certificate of merit and a cash award of $3000.00. The awards will be presented at IPAC19 in Melbourne, Australia. Prizes are made possible by donations from Argonne National Laboratory; Brookhaven Science Associates; Fermi Research Alliance, LLC; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; and the Jefferson Science Associates Initiatives Funds Program.

The deadline to submit 2019 USPAS Prize nominations is December 10, 2018.

Please submit nominations by email, fax or mail to:

U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Fermilab, MS 125
Kirk & Wilson Streets
P.O. Box 500, Batavia IL 60510
email: uspas@fnal.gov
Phone: 630-840-3896
Fax: 630-840-8500

2019 Prize Selection Committee
Alex Chao, (SLAC National Accelerator Lab), Chair
William Barletta (MIT)
Robert Hamm (R&M Technical Enterprises)
Kathy Harkay (Argonne National Lab)
Andrew Hutton (Jefferson Lab)
Dejan Trbojevic (Brookhaven National Lab)
Jean-Luc Vay (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)


Past Prize Winners and Citations
Past Prize Committees
Frequently Asked Questions