U.S. Particle Accelerator School
U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Education in Beam Physics and Accelerator Technology

USPAS Curriculum Sub-Committee

The USPAS Curriculum Committee is a sub-committee of the USPAS Advisory Council whose mission is to provide input to the director on course curricula for USPAS sessions. Active input from the Committee is necessary to form curricula reflecting broad community needs and to ensure high-level instruction. Input includes the selection and timing of courses to reflect current and future community interests and needs, recommendations of instructors, verification of schedule consistency with needs for USPAS masters students, and the appropriateness of course syllabi/descriptions and prerequisites.

The Curriculum Committee will attempt to convene twice a year to review past sessions and to provide input on future curricula. The meeting schedule is set by the Chair based on availability polls and the meeting will be broadcast on Zoom web conferencing software to allow remote participation. Curriculum Committee members are expected to participate in meetings or submit their input to the Chair should their schedule preclude direct participation.

Committee members are selected by the USPAS director and are term limited to five years. Members are chosen among people with teaching experience to represent the breadth of the community and terms are limited to ensure a diversity of opinion. Terms may be extended at the director’s discretion. The chair of the Curriculum Committee is appointed by the USPAS director and will attend the Director's Advisory Council meetings to briefly report on the status of USPAS curricula and facilitate communication.  

Present members of the Curriculum Committee and term expiration dates are:

Bruce Carlsten (2025), Los Alamos National Laboratory
Sarah Cousineau (Chair; 2022), University of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Lab
Zhirong Huang (2021), Stanford University & SLAC National Accelerator Lab
Tim Koeth (2023), University of Maryland
Geoff Krafft (2023), Old Dominion University & Jefferson Lab
Matthias Liepe (2024), Cornell University
Michiko Minty (2022), Brookhaven National Laboratory
Soren Prestemon (2023), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Linda Spentzouris (2021), Illinois Institute of Technology
Michael Syphers (2021), Northern Illinois University & Fermilab
David Whittum (2023), RefleXion Medical