U.S. Particle Accelerator School
U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Education in Beam Physics and Accelerator Technology

University of New Mexico (2019)

USPAS sponsored by the University of New Mexico
held in Albuquerque, NM
June 17-28, 2019

Session Photos

June 17 - 28, 2019 two-week full courses

Fundamentals of Accelerator Physics and Technology with Simulations and Measurements Lab (undergraduate level)
Instructors: Linda Spentzouris and Pavel Snopok, Illinois Institute of Technology; Nicole Neveu, SLAC; Josiah Kunz, Anderson University; Tanaz Mohayai, Elvin Harms and Bob Zwaska, Fermilab
Course website

Accelerator Physics
Instructors: Tianhuan Luo and Dan Wang, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab; Yichao Jing, Brookhaven National Lab; and S.Y. Lee, Ret. Indiana University

Proton and Ion Linear Accelerators
Instructors: Yuri Batygin and Sergey Kurennoy, Los Alamos National Lab

Microwave Sources
Instructors: Bruce Carlsten and Steven Russell, Los Alamos National Lab

Synchrotron Radiation and Free Electron Lasers for Bright X-Rays
Instructors: Kwang-Je Kim, University of Chicago/Argonne National Lab; Zhirong Huang, SLAC National Accelerator Lab and Ryan Lindberg, Argonne National Lab

Induction Accelerators
Yu-Jiuan Chen and Nathaniel J. Pogue, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Josh Coleman, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Will Waldron, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

June 17-21, 2019 one-week half courses

Vacuum Science and Technology for Particle Accelerators
Yulin Li, Cornell University/CLASSE and Xianghong Liu, SLAC National Accelerator Lab

Accelerator Power Electronics Engineering
Paul Bellomo and James Sebek, SLAC National Accelerator Lab

Control Room Accelerator Physics
Alexander Zhukov, Andrei Shishlo and Brandon Cathey, Oak Ridge National Lab

June 24-28, 2019 one-week half courses

Cryogenic Engineering
Tom Peterson, SLAC National Accelerator Lab; John Weisend, European Spallation Source

Pulsed Power Engineering
Craig Burkhart and Mark Kemp, SLAC National Accelerator Lab

The Effect of Radiation on Electronics and Materials
Tim Koeth, Amber Johnson and Brian Beaudoin, University of Maryland; Heather Quinn, Los Alamos National Lab