U.S. Particle Accelerator School
U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Education in Beam Physics and Accelerator Technology

University of California San Diego (2020)

USPAS sponsored by the University of California San Diego
held in San Diego, CA
January 13-24, 2020

Session Photos

January 13 - 24, 2020 two-week full courses

Fundamentals of Accelerator Physics and Technology with Simulations and Measurements Lab (undergrad level)
Instructors: Louis Emery, John Power and Kent Wootton, Argonne National Laboratory; Osama Mohsen, Northern Illinois University

Accelerator Physics
Instructors: Alex Bogacz and Geoffrey Krafft, Jefferson Lab; Suba DeSilva and Bhawin Dhital, Old Dominion University

Microwave Measurements and Beam Instrumentation Laboratory
Instructors: Derun Li;  Lawrence Doolittle; Gang Huang; Tianhuan Luo; Stefano DeSantis, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

RF-Cavity, Component and System for Accelerators
Instructors: Ali Nassiri, Geoff Waldschmidt and Yawei Yang, Argonne National Lab

Beam Physics with Intense Space Charge
Instructors: Steve Lund, Michigan State University and USPAS; John Barnard, Lawrence Livermore National Lab; Arun Persaud, Lawrence Berkeley Natonal Lab

January 13 - 17, 2020 one-week half courses

Particle Driven Wakefield Accelerators
Instructors: James Rosenzweig, UCLA; Michael Litos, University of Colorado; Spencer Gessner, SLAC

PhotoCathode Physics
Instructors: Ivan Bazarov and Jared Maxson, Cornell University; Sid Karkare, Arizona State University

Engineering for Particle Accelerators
Instructors: Vyacheslav Yakovlev; Thomas Nicol; Timergali Khabiboulline; Vladimir Kashikhin, Fermilab

January 20 - 24, 2020 one-week half courses

Plasma-Based Acceleration
Instructors: Warren B. Mori, UCLA; Alec Thomas, University of Michigan; Navid Vafaei-Najafabadi, Stony Brook University

High Brightness Electron Injectors and Applications
Instructors: Daniele Filippetto and Chad Mitchell, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab; Pietro Musumeci, UCLA

Magnetic Systems for Accelerators, Detectors and  Insertion Devices
Instructors: Ross Schlueter, Diego Arbelaez and Soren Prestemon, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab