U.S. Particle Accelerator School
U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Education in Beam Physics and Accelerator Technology

the 2017 USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology will be awarded to:

Alex Chao

Alex Chao

For insightful, fundamental and broad-ranging contributions to accelerator physics, including polarization, beam-beam effects, nonlinear dynamics and collective instabilities, for tireless community leadership and for inspiring and educating generations of accelerator physicists and engineers

Anna Grassellino

Alexander Romanenko

Anna Grassellino and Alexander Romanenko

For breakthrough discoveries in raising the quality factor of Superconducting RF cavities with nitrogen-doping and related techniques and their impact as baseline technology for new SRF accelerators

Award recipients will receive a certificate of merit and cash award of $3,000.00. The awards are made possible by contributions from Argonne National Laboratory; Brookhaven Science Associates; Fermi Research Alliance, LLC; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; and the Jefferson Science Associates Initiatives Funds Program and will be presented on January 15, 2017 at the winter USPAS session sponsored by the University of California, Davis and held in Rohnert Park, CA.

The USPAS prize honors individuals by recognizing their outstanding achievements over the full range of accelerator physics and technology. The prizes are awarded on a competitive basis without bias to race, sex, and/or nationality. Two USPAS achievement prizes are awarded every two years; one of the prizes will be awarded to an early-career scientist under 45 years of age.

USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology homepage

The 2017 USPAS Prize Committee:

Chair Kwang-Je Kim
Zhirong Huang
Pietro Musumeci
Fulvia Pilat
Jonathan Wurtele
Jie Wei

Past Prize Recipients and Citations